February 23rd, 2019 Constituent Assembly, Minutes



Constituent Assembly

Minutes

List of those present

Antonopoulou Katy, Greece (EL.E.AN.A.) – Greek Representative and Board Member candidate

Bouillot Coralie, France (AFGS) – French Representative and Board Member candidate

Grosjean Alice, Switzerland (ARSYS) – Swiss Representative and Board Member candidate

Jiménez Clara, Spain (AESS) – Spanish Representative

Koelewijn-Tukker Joyce, Netherlands (NVSP) – Board Member candidate

Lesuisse Isabelle, Belgium (Sjögren.be, informal association) with the endorsement of Portugal, Netherlands and Switzerland – Board Member candidate

Morujão Rosário, Portugal (LPCDR) – Portuguese Representative

Oosterbaan Mascha, Netherlands (NVSP) – Dutch Representative and Board Member candidate

Stone Linda (United Kingdom, BSSA) – British Representative

Vieira Ana, Portugal (LPCDR) – Board Member candidate

Yli-Harja Helena, Finland (Sjögrenliitto) – Finnish Representative

Excused: Italy (ANIMASS)

Founders

Finland (Sjögrenliitto)

France (AFGS)

Greece (EL.E.AN.A.)

Italy (ANIMASS)

Netherlands (NVSP)

Portugal (LPCDR)

Spain (AESS)

Switzerland (ARSYS)

United Kingdom (BSSA)



Constituent Assembly, Minutes

With the presence of the informal association of Belgium (Sjögren.be)

Election of the Board

It has been suggested to have two elections for the Board: a first one with people of Sjögren Europe Task Force elected as a group (people involved in the creation team would be elected all at the same time) and a second one with the new member. This suggestion was approved by all people present. There was no objection.

For the elections, the Representatives of the Full Members vote. There are 8 votes: CH (Alice Grosjean), FI (Helena Yli-Harja), FR (Coralie Bouillot), GR (Katy Antonopoulou), NL (Mascha Oosterbaan), PT (Rosário Morujão), SP (Clara Jiménez), UK (Linda Stone).

1st Election

Candidates:

Bouillot Coralie, France - Grosjean Alice, Switzerland - Koelewijn-Tukker Joyce, Netherlands - Lesuisse Isabelle, Belgium - Oosterbaan Mascha, Netherlands - Vieira Ana, Portugal

The candidates have been elected unanimously.

For the second election, the Task Force for the Creation of Sjögren Europe recommend to elect Katy Antonopoulou as a Board Member.

2nd Election

Candidate:

Antonopoulou Katy, Greece

The candidate has been elected unanimously.

Sjögren Europe Board

Executive Committee:

Alice Grosjean (CH) – President

Mascha Ossterbaan (NL) – Vice-President

Coralie Bouillot (FR) – Secretary ad interim

Katy Antonopoulou (GR) – Treasurer

Advisors:

Ana Vieira (PT)

Isabelle Lesuisse (BE)

Joyce Koelewijn-Tukker (NL)



Constituent Assembly, Minutes

By-Laws

The Representatives already started to discuss the By-Laws the week before the Constituent Assembly. They had already made several changes. These are the last discussions and changes about them.

Several English corrections and several changes for more clarity have been done (they don't change the meaning of the articles of the By-Laws).

Especially, for more clarity, Representatives and Board Members agreed on changing the terms "Executive Board" for "Executive Committee" in the whole document.

The By-Laws document with the history of changes made during the Constituent Assembly was sent to the Representatives and can be sent upon request by e-mail to contact@sjogreneurope.org

Main points:

Art. 5.2: "Sjögren Europe may also consider admission to organisations from countries outside Europe."

This is to be open to countries like Israel or Turkey for example. The article adds the flexibility to accept them as Full Members although we don't have to.

Art. 5.2: "At all meetings, delegates must be authorised by their own organisations to make decisions for Sjögren Europe."

The new formulation adds clarity about the role of the delegates/representatives.

Art. 8.1: "One nominated delegate from each full voting member organisation shall serve on the General Assembly and shall carry one vote. Each Board Member shall also serve on the General Assembly and shall carry one vote. If a Board Member is a nominated delegate as well, they will therefore have 2 voices. Board members don't vote on discharging of the Board."

Clara told about the reserves that the AESS has about the possibility for some people to cumulate 2 voices (1 as a Board Member and 1 as a Representative) but says that they would not oppose to this article.

Art. 9.1: "The Executive Committee shall represent different countries."

It has been decided that this point has to be an obligation for a better diversity.

Art. 9.3

• "The President shall be responsible for taking any urgent action between the Board Meetings in consultation with at least one other Board member."

"In consultation with at least one other Board Member" has been added so that it is less pressure and responsibility for the President and that way nobody can accuse the President of acting in a non-democratic way.

The corrected By-Laws has been approved unanimously.



Constituent Assembly, Minutes

Membership Fee

For setting the Membership fee for the Full Members and the Associate Members, the Representatives of the Full Members and the Board Members vote. There are 15 votes (8 for the Representatives and 7 for the Board Members).

Suggested Fees

Full Members: 80 Euros

Associate Members: 25 Euros

Linda suggested that the fee for the Associate Members is not enough as Sjögren Europe will provide a lot of advantages and do a lot of work for them too. 40 Euros is suggested.

Linda also suggested that the fee for the Full Members could also be raised because the Federation will need money. Ana told that the Task Force did not want to have too high fees so that the poorest organisations could join. As the Membership fee is set every year by the General Assembly, it has been decided to keep a low fee and to raise it if needed during one of the next General Assemblies.

Final Membership Fee

Full Members: 80 Euros

Associate Members: 40 Euros

The final Membership fees has been accepted unanimously

Miscellaneous

The 1st General Assembly of Sjögren Europe is set during the EULAR congress in Madrid. The Board will try to find a room for the 13th June 2019 at 17:00. If no room is available at this date and time, the Board will warn all the Representatives as soon as possible.

Headquarters of Sjögren Europe

Sjögren Europe c/o Alice Grosjean Rue du Marché-Neuf 27 2503 Bienne Switzerland

Alice Grosjean, President

Alice Grosjean